Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Fire Authorities

This article was last reviewed 5 years 8 months ago
It is due for its next review in 0 sec

The fire service is operated at local authority level by 30 service delivery units.  There are 218 fire stations throughout the country with 3,245 serving fire service personnel, of whom 1,206 are full-time and 2,039 are retained (on a 24 hour basis). List of fire stations and fire authorities are provided in related documents.

Local Authorities have a yearly budget of about €240m to run the fire service. The role of the fire services is broad.  Activities carried out include:

  • responding to fires
  • fire prevention work
  • community fire safety
  • activities related to SEVESO/COMAH installations  and dangerous substances;
  • “Building Control” and dangerous building service – carrying out fire safety checks;
  • leading major emergency management within the local government system and in the inter-agency regional structures
  • running mobilisation and communication centres as well as training centres on a regional basis
  • working with and in some cases running the Civil Defence service and
  • making input to national policy development and delivery.

“Keeping Communities Safe”

(KCS), the policy document which sets the future direction of fire services in Ireland, including the re-alignment of structures to deliver effective fire services. This means the fire services can remain as a local authority function with most importance put on local decision making and local political accountability. Under KCS service delivery is to be reshaped from the current 30 fire services to 21, with 14 single fire authorities and 7 ‘shared services’.

Fire Service Personnel

Details of fire service personnel employed by fire authorities are provided on the right of your screen under publications and documents.

Brief History

The Fire Brigades Act, 1940 was the basis for the first countrywide fire-fighting system. This made it mandatory for local authorities, urban and rural, to make sure there was a group in place to respond to fires in their area and to try to keep people safe. The authorities had to fund these groups themselves. A local authority could do this either by setting up a fire brigade (in which case it became a fire brigade authority) or by arranging with another authority (or with persons) to keep a fire brigade to cover its district.

The then Minister for Local Government was empowered to inquire, on complaint, into the adequacy of the provision made by a local authority and could, in certain circumstances, require local authorities to co-operate in the provision of a fire service.

The Fire Services Act, 1981 established the fire authorities and led to the fire service being set up including training of fire personnel, fire-fighting and fire safety, and other matters relating to the protection of people and property from fire. The 1981 Act was updated in 2003.

Contact Details

National Directorate for Fire and Emergency Management
The Department of Housing, Local Government and Heritage
Rm. G59
Custom House
Dublin 1
D01 W6X0

Sub topic 

Was this page helpful?

Thank you for helping us to improve

Data Protection

The Department of Housing, Local Government and Heritage requires customers to provide certain personal data in order to carry out our legislative and administrative functions. The Department will treat all information and personal data that you provide as confidential, in accordance with the General Data Protection Regulation and Data Protection legislation. Personal data may be exchanged with other Government Departments, local authorities, agencies under the aegis of the Department, or other public bodies, in certain circumstances where this is provided for by law. 

The Department's Data Protection Policy and Privacy Statements, which set out how we will use your personal data, as well as providing information regarding your rights as a data subject, are available on the Department’s website.  They are also available in hard copy upon request from the Data Protection Officer, Department of Housing, Local Government and Heritage, Newtown Road, Wexford, email