Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Regional Assemblies

Ireland’s Regional Authorities have a range of powers in relation to spatial planning and economic development. They were streamlined into three Regional Assemblies in 2015, representing the Northern and Western, Eastern and Midlands, and the Southern Regions.

The Regional Assemblies source European funding for Regional Programmes, they promote coordinated public services, they monitor proposals which may impact on their areas, and they advise public bodies of the regional implications of their policies and plans.