Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Seanad Bye-Election

Published on Tuesday, 15 Oct 2019
Dept Housing logo

Mr. Eoghan Murphy, T.D., Minister for Housing, Planning and Local Government yesterday (15 October, 2019) announced that an Order has been made directing that a bye-election be held to fill the vacancy in the Seanad caused by the election to the European Parliament of Senator Grace O'Sullivan.

Senator O'Sullivan was elected from the Oireachtas Sub-Panel of the Agricultural Panel at the Seanad General Election in April 2016. 

The last day for receiving nominations at the bye-elections will be 25 October, 2019 at 12 noon.  The Seanad Returning Officer will sit for the ruling on nominations on 1 November, 2019.  Ballot papers will be issued on 8 November, 2019 and the poll will close at 11 a.m. on 22 November, 2019.

The electorate for the bye-elections will be the members of Dáil Éireann and Seanad Éireann.

Sub topic